Musings on Summoning

Summoning are in my top three or four favourite bands – for a few reasons.

First, their lyrics are pretty much all Tolkien-based, but not in the geeky way – their interpretation of Tolkien is pretty solid and avoids the geeky/fanboy feel that lots of metal bands have when their lyrics are based on Tolkien or fantasy in general.

Their sound, especially on Oath Bound (which I would consider to be their best album , and one of the best metal albums ever put out [if you can really call it metal, which is debatable]) is absolutely brilliant – their music perfectly captures the mood of Tolkien’s early works like The Silmarillion. The music has a truly sublime feeling – it has the same enormous, tragic feeling that is so characteristic of Tolkien’s writing. I would say epic, but epic is a word that’s really been used and abused a lot in recent years – but tracks like Beleriand really do, in my opinion, capture what it means to be epic.

If I had to describe the sound of Summoning, I’d say dreamy ambient with some black metal influences, mostly in the vocals – the use of slow drum patterns, slow guitar and heavy, slow synths really sets them apart in the metal world, and honestly, I wouldn’t call their more recent albums metal. Oath Bound in particular is more ambient than anything, in my opinion. It’s mood capturing music – and as I said above, it captures the bleak, tragic and cold world of the The Silmarillion brilliantly.

4 thoughts on “Musings on Summoning

  1. Matthew C August 17, 2014 / 3:48 pm

    Can’t believe this post! I love Summoning too!

    I thought their newest album was fantastic.

    Like

    • whitefrozen August 17, 2014 / 3:50 pm

      It was very good, but not quite as good as some of their previous albums. It was almost a throwback to LMHSYF in terms of the drumming, I thought. The melodies weren’t quite as entrancing, either. Good album but not a great album.

      Like

      • Matthew C August 17, 2014 / 3:59 pm

        Maybe the long wait from the previous album made it seem better than it was

        Like

        • whitefrozen August 17, 2014 / 4:28 pm

          I was a bit overexcited for that very reason, and I think you’re right, because when I first got it I thought it was as good as their older albums. Not so much now. Speaking of, Stronghold destroys.

          Like

Leave a Reply

