4 thoughts on “Responsible Theology and Thinking

  1. Kevin Davis June 2, 2014 / 8:54 pm

    I had a conversation not long ago with a budding theology student, wherein I commented that feminist theology today is impoverished and obviously so, failing to capitalize on its early promise to generate serious contributions from women to dogmatic theology, with only a handful of exceptions. I used the WIT blog as a perfect illustration of women doing critical theory under the guise of theology. (And I acknowledged worthwhile contributions from critical theory…but it ain’t theology.)

    In response I was told, in so many words, that “theology” as I defined it is a white male construct, and therefore has no claim to represent “serious” theology. Thus, feminist theologians can be excused for their disinterest in dogmatic theology.

    I don’t even know how to respond to that. I don’t even know if it is possible to respond. Once the other person has reduced all claims to “power”, the conversation is over.

    Like

    • whitefrozen June 3, 2014 / 5:52 pm

      Yeah, those kinds of conversations are pretty pointless. All you can do is smile and change the subject, or leave the conversation.

      Like

  2. Rod June 3, 2014 / 4:09 am

    Sometimes great academic propositions come from the not-so-academic. (I’m not referring to the pseudo authorities who have gained a degree-by-meme from social media.) I just think understanding genre is crucial in applying any type of adequacy tests. Something I am learning more and more about as I stumble along with attempts at maintaining a legit ”theological” blog.

    I like Kevin’s final few sentences – the words ad hominem, ad nauseam come to mind.

    Like

    • whitefrozen June 3, 2014 / 5:53 pm

      Well, being an academic isn’t necessary for theological reflection – disciplined and critical thought/habits of conversation, however, are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

