New Books

To my surprise, there was a fill-a-bag-for-5-bucks sale at the local library – needless to say, even though I don’t need any more books, I filled my plastic shopping bag (provided by the library) with:

‘Abraham Geiger and the Historical Jesus’, by Susannah Heschel. Never heard of either of these folks, but it sounded interesting, and it’s got an endorsement by Sanders on the back, so how bad could it be? Jewish perspectives on historical Jesus study are always cool.

‘Introduction to Metaphysics’, edited by Andrew Schrodinger. I almost didn’t get this one, but it’s a sourcebook of texts on issues like free will, causality, universals, mind/body, etc etc, from Aristotle, Carnap, Berkeley, Russell, Locke, Descartes, Mill, Hume, and a ton of others, lots of which I don’t have firsthand access to. So it’s nice to have that.

‘Introduction to Logic,’ by Irving M. Copi. This is a textbook on, you guessed it, logic -a tad dated (1972), but still good. Tons of tables, practice stuff, explanations, etc.

‘Dynamics of Faith’, by Paul Tillich. Figured, why not? Might as well have it on hand.

‘A Sheltered Life: The Unexpected History of the Giant Tortoise’, by Paul Chambers. I always try and pick a book or two about something I know nothing about, and I know nothing about giant tortoises, so there you go.

‘The Idea of the Holy’, by Rudolf Otto. I’ve wanted this one for a while but not enough to go out and spend money on it. Like Tillich, good to have on hand.

‘The Cosmic Blueprint: New Discoveries in Nature’s Creative Ability to Order the Universe’, by Paul Davies. I flipped through this one and it seemed really good – lots of stuff about chaos, Prigione, thermodynamics, order, self-organization, etc. I have another book of his about philosophy/theology/physics and it’s terrible, but his straight science stuff is outstanding.

‘The Origin of Species by Means of Natural Selection of the Preservation of Favoured Races in the Struggle for Life’, by Charles Darwin. Need I explain?

2 thoughts on “New Books

  1. Michelle Joelle April 27, 2014 / 8:12 pm

    Good haul! This is my favorite way to get new books – I love the element of surprise and discovery. I’ve picked up some of my best surveys and source books at sales/giveaways like this. And I once got five years worth of old American Catholic Philosophical Quarterlies from a professor moving to a new university.

    Like

    • whitefrozen April 27, 2014 / 8:17 pm

      I’ve so far been to three sales like this, all by accident – but I’ve yet to get any free ACPQ. I hear that’s the mag all the cool kids at parties like to read…

      Like

Leave a Reply

