Reading Notes 2/10/14

This weekend, I picked up Dostoevsky’s ‘The Idiot’, ‘The Enlightenment: The Science of Freedom’, by Peter Gay, and a collection of essays on the theology of Bultmann entitled ‘Kerygma and History’. All for about 15 bucks at the local used bookstores. I look forward to going through each.

I started reading Brian Greene’s ‘The Hidden Reality’, which, in typical Greene fashion, is delightful in explaining (at the moment) the unification of nature’s laws and the fundamental forces, which goes nicely with the reading of James Clerk Maxwell by Torrance I was doing the week before last. It reminds me that I need to read more of Feynman.

I went through ‘Christology of the Later Fathers’, particularly Gregory Nyssa and Gregory Nazanien (sp?). They don’t make ’em like that anymore, that’s for sure.

I continue to plod through a few different history books – New and Old Testament, along with ‘Jesus and the Victory of God’. Not a whole lot more to report at the moment, as I have a terrible headache.

5 thoughts on “Reading Notes 2/10/14

  1. Joel February 10, 2014 / 11:46 pm

    The Idiot is interesting. Have you read any of Dostoevsky’s other books?

    Like

    • whitefrozen February 11, 2014 / 7:59 pm

      C&P, Karamazov, and just started Notes from Underground, which is so far very, very boring.

      Like

      • Joel February 11, 2014 / 9:24 pm

        Underground switches to narrative instead of existential rambling about a third of the way in, so you might like Part II better

        Like

        • whitefrozen February 12, 2014 / 9:06 am

          Ah, good to hear. Dostoevsky is great, but I don’t think that the existential rambling is his best work, unfortunately. Or maybe I just don’t get it, who knows.

          Like

          • Joel February 13, 2014 / 10:02 pm

            I find it amusing in how pathetic the whole thing is, in Dostoevsky’s sort of blackly comic way.

            Like

Leave a Reply

