More Reading Notes 1/31/14

I just ordered Pelikan’s volume on the Reformation in his famous ‘Christian Tradition’ series. I have the Orthodox one, and was able to grab the medieval one from the library. The medieval one is great – the discussion of predestination, nature and grace in the 9th century is fascinating.

I also got Rita Carter’s ‘Mapping the Mind’ at the recommendation of a friend, which looks to be a great book – focused, as far as I can tell, on the neurological/physiological aspects of the mind/brain identity. Can’t wait for that one to go along with the more philosophy of mind oriented books on the subject I have.

Wright’s ‘Jesus and the Victory of God’ is slow but good reading. His discussion of the meaning of ‘repentance’ is superb – I’ve gone over it easily half a dozen times and it keeps getting better.

Wolterstorff’s art book is good but slow as well – I’m still in the beginning so it’s still basically a survey of the state of art and how we think about it. I’m reading about the role of contemplation in the rise of museums in western culture right now. ON that same topic, I read Jacques Barzun’s ‘From Dawn to Decadence’, specifically the section about romanticism, which was very informative.

I’ve been spending more time in Torrance’s ‘Incarnation’, lately. His argument for the assumption of ‘fallen’ human nature is pretty tight, but I’m not 100% convinced that it wins out over the Eastern Orthodox viewpoint.

4 thoughts on “More Reading Notes 1/31/14

  1. Cal February 1, 2014 / 12:15 am

    As a request: would you post up a summary and commentary of that discussion in the 9th century? Gottschalck is an interesting figure, is he apart of the discussion or an after thought? Anyhow, I’m curious, and too poor and reading list too full to get the book!

    Cal

    Like

    • whitefrozen February 1, 2014 / 9:13 am

      I put up the best I could come up with short of copy/pasting the whole relevant section 🙂

      Like

  2. Kevin Davis February 1, 2014 / 12:28 am

    If you really like the 9th century debates over predestination, Etienne Gilson’s History of Christian Philosophy in the Middle Ages is very good, as you would expect from Gilson. I have not read Pelikan’s account, so I cannot compare. And I don’t even remember the particulars of Gilson’s account except that I was impressed.

    By the way, Barzun’s FDD was one of the first “intellectual” books that I ever bought, when I first started caring about ideas (junior year of high school, if I remember correctly). I read it but, of course, did not understand the half of it! I need to revisit it.

    Like

    • whitefrozen February 1, 2014 / 9:12 am

      I’ll put that Gilson book on my list – he has a true virtuostic command of history and philosophy. Pelikan is very much worth getting – as a work of scholarship, it’s almost second-to-none. The amount of side-notes (his footnotes and sources are in the margins and follow the text along) is just ridiculous.

      Like

Leave a Reply

