Another Quick Knowledge Note

Almost without fail, when I’m asked about something, even something about which I have at least a little knowledge, my mind goes blank.

‘What did Descartes think about the mind and body?’

‘Uh…’

I then proceed to fumble through a few very poorly formed sentences trying to answer the question. I usually then spend about five minutes in a deep angst about my inability to retain information (I’m very, very absentminded and learn best when given a lot of time in which to immerse myself in the subject) before coherent responses begin to fill my head. Usually about an hour later, I could give a speech about the subject. So it seems like, at least for me personally, that knowledge needs a kind of momentum to emerge in a coherent form. Is there a name for this phenomenon?

3 thoughts on “Another Quick Knowledge Note

  1. jeremystormsky January 4, 2014 / 10:17 pm

    I’m not sure if there is a name for it but I know all to well what your talking about. Good post!

    Like

    • whitefrozen January 4, 2014 / 10:33 pm

      Thanks for the comment! Whatever it is, it’s certainly a frustrating thing.

      Like

  2. guymax January 5, 2014 / 6:45 am

    Maybe the name for it is ‘thoughtfulness’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

