Insomnia

I haven’t slept more than 4 hours a night for the last 5 or 6 nights – which is unusual for me. I was reading the Psalms last night trying to sleep, and I found this:

‘You held open my eyelids’. (Psalm 77:5)
I then did a bit of searching and found this:
‘Most remarkable and profound is the ancient church’s request that, when our eyes are closed in sleep, God may nevertheless keep our hearts alert to God. It is a prayer that God may dwell with us and in us, even when we feel and know nothing, that God may keep our hearts pure and holy in spite of all the worries and temptations of the night, that God may prepare our hearts to hear the call at any time, and, like the boy Samuel, answer even in the night, “Speak, Lord, your servant is listening” (1 Samuel 3:10). (Dietrich Bonhoeffer, ‘Life Together’, p. 79-80)
Perhaps God has a reason for ‘holding open my eyelids’.
Leave a Reply

